Khanom en Maleisie - Reisverslag uit Seoel, Zuid-Korea van huiberthetlam - WaarBenJij.nu Khanom en Maleisie - Reisverslag uit Seoel, Zuid-Korea van huiberthetlam - WaarBenJij.nu

Khanom en Maleisie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

05 September 2014 | Zuid-Korea, Seoel

Dear all,

I'll do this in my shitty English from now on, maybe my international friends are also interested in this and I don't think the Dutch people will have problems with the English.

At the moment I'm writing this I'm already 2 days in Seoul, South-Korea. I have to say that it is totally different from South-East Asia: it is really modern, the weather is really good (not so hot, but I heard that I'm just lucky now), everything is so clean and it is so much more expensive here. Last point isn't really positive, but luckily, compared to Holland it is still cheap.

But let me first tell about my last days in South-East Asia. After leaving Koh Tao with 2 certificates in diving, I went to Khanom. Khanom is a place where almost no western tourists go and that was exactly the reason I went there. A girl that I had met in Vientiane had told me about this place, she worked in a bar in Khanom. It took me a whole day to get to this small village and when I arrived it looked if I had come to the middle of nowhere. Luckily, the guy who owned the bungalows was there so I could get rid off my stuff. That guy also brought me to the bar that was a hundred meters behind the bungalows and very close to the ocean. When I arrived there was no electricity so the people in the bar used candles to get some light. Half of the people there were Thai and only spoke a little bit of English. Also my friend was there with some other people that worked there. I must say, it was one of the best nights so far. Candlelight, life music by Thai people and drinking Thai booze.

The next day I felt really feverish. I was afraid that I got dengue fever (it can take a month to get better from that), because 8 days before that I was at a place where lots of people got dengue. Even a friend that I made there had it at that moment. Luckily, it turned out that is wasn't dengue fever and I also couldn't have been in a better place being sick. In Khanom there is just nothing to do except for chilling, swimming and making music. I spent the day in the bar, and surprisingly two other tourists came that day. One of them was a french girl that I had met a few days earlier on Koh Tao. How small is Thailand sometimes. In the bar, there was music all the time. Almost everyone there played the guitar, I really enjoyed listening to all that music. The friend I met in Vientiane also had a voice that I almost fell in love with, so amazing. In the evening when there were more people in the bar, there was also a lot of jamming (bar was also called jam bay).
The next day I felt still a bit sick, so I again spent the day in the hammocks and on the beach. The day after that I was finally better, so I rented a moped and drove around a bit. I found some nice places around Khanom, but nothing very spectacular.

The day after that I finally went to Malaysia, first to Georgetown, Penang. The trip took again the whole day and when I arrived it turned out that the computer of the hostel was broken such that they hadn't seen my reservation and now they were full. They arranged me a cheaper bed in a hostel close by, so I was happy. I spent the next morning walking around the city, there is lots of streetart there, but for the rest it is just a dirty city. In the afternoon I went to Penang hill that was supposed to be very great. There should be great views of Penang but it turned out to be one of the biggest flops of my trip. But I was still happy I made that trip, because in the bus to the hill I met 3 amazing Malaysian girls. We also went out together in the evening and since we were both going to Kuala Lumpur the next they (they work and live there) they offered me to join them in their car, so nice of them!! I really enjoyed the trip to KL, I had great company during the trip and we also visited some waterfall on the way there. In KL I haven't done so much. I don't think many people know this, but next semester I am going to study in Heidelberg, Germany, and I still haven't a room there. I also had to arrange some other stuff, not the nicest thing to do while traveling, but I can't wait till I'm home. After that I walked a bit around in KL, I liked it there although it was very dirty. Almost everyone I've met so far didn't like KL, even the 3 girls that lived there. So maybe it is a good thing that I only had a few hours. In the evening I had dinner with the girls and said goodbye to them.

The next morning I went to the airport and flew to Seoul. The flight took 6.5 hours, but I had nice company in the plane. I've now spent two days in Seoul and it seems to be a city I can live in for a while (maybe I will after I finish my studies). During the first day I walked around in the neighborhood with all the major sights. I spent the evening with a Korean friend I made two years ago. So nice to see her again after such a long time. Today I went to a hill where you have a nice view on Seoul. Tomorrow I will go to the border with North Korea. Really curious how that will be.

Huibert

  • 05 September 2014 - 15:44

    Monique:

    Dear Huibert,

    Although I am from Holland just like you, I wanted to write this comment in English so your international friends can also read this. What a beautiful trip you're making sounds like big fun. Also it was so nice to read about Khanom since I was one of the first foreigners 8 years ago that discovered Khanom. I was sorry to hear that you think Khanom is not spectacular and did you not found anything else to do then lying on the beach. That's why I wanted to tell you, you missed so many spectaculair things to do in and around Khanom for example did you know that you can find here the pink dolphins sometimes they pass Jam Bay bar, one of the beach bars you visit but if not you could have made a dolphin tour with Khun Lee's fishing tours, the change that you had spot them was very big. Pink dolphins are very rare. Also Khun Lee fishing' tours organizing as the name said so fishing tours, snorkling tours, or tours to the city of Nakhon Si Thammarat. Further Khanom is a great place to hike due to it's beautiful waterfalls which I think you did not see. Also every month there is a full moon party not like in Koh Phangan but still fun to see. Every Saturday in the town of Khanom there is a walking street with lot of streetfood and very busy with locals but also tourist not as many tourist as for example Patong beach in Phuket or Chaweng in Koh Samui but it depends of what you like many tourist or a lovely mix between locals and tourist. Do you want detox and healing then Nirvana is a great place to visit. Or a luxury spa with yoga then Aava which has a very good restaurant is the place to be. Do you want the local Thai massage then go to CC's beach bar or opposite Aava. Did you go to Khanom Seafood restaurant? The seafood is great and a spectacular view at the Gulf of Thailand. Also the food at Khanom Hill is delicious. I can name a lot of other things if you ever want to go back and want to know more just ask me and I will love to answer your questions. I think you have to visit Khanom again you missed out to many great things except if you like tourist places with a spectacular nightlife then I agree you will not find that in Khanom. Have a nice trip and enjoy. By the way you can follow my fanpage KhanomBeachMagazine on Facebook where I keep people updated about Khanom.

  • 06 September 2014 - 12:13

    :

    I've seen most of the things you describe, I only missed the waterfalls, I went to visit them but couldn't find them, I asked around but other people had the same problem. I passed the khanom seafood restaurant and I agree that the view is great. I'm not really interested in dolphins and already saw them in other places. All in all, I think That most of the things you tell about can also be done in other places, so I think I spent my time there well :) will do exactly the same there when I come back.

  • 09 September 2014 - 03:18

    Monique :

    You certainly spend your time well by staying on the beach hahaha no question about that. Sure you can do most things also in other places that goes for every destination in the world but every place has its own unique atmosphere, distinctive landscape and wildlife. Sorry to hear that you are not interested in pink dolphins they are very rare and there are only a few places in the world where you can spot them. As for the waterfall look at my fanpage! I described with pictures how to get there. There are more waterfalls I still have to write about but that will come in time. Nice to hear that you are still planning to come back to Khanom I think that means there is something attractive to Khanom

  • 09 September 2014 - 03:18

    Monique :

    You certainly spend your time well by staying on the beach hahaha no question about that. Sure you can do most things also in other places that goes for every destination in the world but every place has its own unique atmosphere, distinctive landscape and wildlife. Sorry to hear that you are not interested in pink dolphins they are very rare and there are only a few places in the world where you can spot them. As for the waterfall look at my fanpage! I described with pictures how to get there. There are more waterfalls I still have to write about but that will come in time. Nice to hear that you are still planning to come back to Khanom I think that means there is something attractive to Khanom

  • 09 September 2014 - 03:22

    Monique:

    Something attractive about Khanom instead of to Khanom, talking about shitty English hahaha.....

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zuid-Korea, Seoel

Actief sinds 20 Juli 2014
Verslag gelezen: 402
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4793

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Oktober 2014 - 28 Februari 2015

Heidelberg

14 Juli 2014 - 26 September 2014

Azië

Landen bezocht: